That Which is in Store For Us

I Corinthians 2:9  “But as it is written, Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.”

Today I had a wonderful meal.  I went to Cracker Barrel here in town and, well, what I ate is not important.  Let’s just say, it was a big breakfast.  What is important is that I enjoyed it.  I also enjoyed the company.  You see, my family and I were fellowshipping with three other families from the church.  Food and fellowship; these are staples to just about any Baptist out there.

The verse above made me think.  We’re going to be spending the an awful long time dining at the Master’s table once we get to heaven.  No matter how good the food is down here, and frankly, as good as Cracker Barrel is, it never beats my wife’s cooking, or my grandma’s, or my Nannie’s.  But when I get to heaven, I’m not even going to remember Cracker Barrel.  I’ll be dining with the King of Kings, and fellowshipping with the saints and martyrs.  Moses, Joseph, Rahab, King David, and Paul.  Stephen the evangelist.  Philip.  Perhaps I’ll run into D. L. Moody, or Scofield.

Eye hath not see, nor ear heard.  That is what the Bible says.  I had a great time out today with my friends.  It’s nice to talk about everyday things, and even spiritual things, with your brothers and sisters in Christ.  But how much more amazing to spend time with Jesus Himself.  We are supposed to love God, because He first loved us.  He sent HIs son to die for us, and all we have to do is be appreciative, and believe that He did.  And for that, we get an eternal life that puts this one to shame, quite literally.

Imagine the most precious thing you can.  Imagine the most beautiful thing you can.  Imagine the best day you could have.  And then realize that none of those things even come close to what God has in store for us on the other side.  God is preparing a place for us.  All we’re required to do is try to find more guests.

Leave a Reply

